Michigan Foreclosure Settlement
Picture of living local in Mid Michigan

living local in Mid Michigan

43 West and North Michigan Counties to Pay Millions to Former Property Owners

43 Michigan counties have agreed to pay millions of dollars to former property owners who lost their homes to tax foreclosure between 2013 and 2020.

This is a huge win for homeowners who were forced out of their homes due to financial hardship. The settlement will provide relief to hundreds of people who were struggling to make ends meet.

How did this happen?

In 2014, the law firm Lewis Reed & Allen filed a lawsuit on behalf of Wayside Church, a small congregation on Chicago’s south side. Wayside Church had lost its camp in Van Buren County to foreclosure in 2013, even though the property was worth more than the amount owed in back taxes. The camp was sold for $200,000, with proceeds going back to the county for a tax debt of less than $17,000.  The church argued that the county had violated the U.S. Constitution’s takings clause by taking the property without just compensation.

This led to a class-action suit for the practice which was eventually settled, and the counties have agreed to return 80% of the surplus from the sale of tax foreclosed properties to former property owners or their heirs. The total amount of the settlement is still being calculated, but it is expected to be in the tens of millions of dollars.

What does this mean for you?

If you lost your home to foreclosure in Michigan between 2013 and 2020, you may be entitled to a payment from the settlement. To find out if you qualify, you can file a claim online.

Claims must be filed by August 7, 2023. To file a claim, you will need to provide your name, address, and the property address that was foreclosed on. You will also need to provide proof of ownership of the property, such as a deed or tax bill.

If you have any questions about the settlement or how to file a claim, you can contact the settlement administrator at 1-888-555-1212.

This is a great opportunity for closure for homeowners who were unfairly treated by this practice. We encourage you to share this article with someone you know who was affected or to file a claim if you believe you are entitled to a payment.

Counties included in this Suit:

 Alger County  Allegan County  Antrim County  Baraga County  Barry County  Benzie County  Berrien County  Calhoun County  Cass County  Chippewa County  Delta County  Dickinson County  Eaton County  Emmet County  Gogebic County  Grand Traverse County  Hillsdale County  Houghton County  Ingham County  Ionia County  Iron County  Kalamazoo County  Kalkaska County  Kent County  Lake County  Leelanau County  Mackinac County  Manistee County  Marquette County  Mason County  Menominee County  Missaukee County  Montcalm County  Muskegon County  Newaygo County  Oceana County  Ontonagon County  Osceola County  Ottawa County  Saint Joseph County  Schoolcraft County  Van Buren County  Wexford County 

More to Explore

Senior Specialists

Selling Mom’s House Now

How to sell mom’s house ORIGINAL POST FROM THELOCALELEMENT.COM Losing a parent is one of life’s most challenging experiences. As you are walking through the

Read More »

Family Opportunity Mortgage

Are your parents or disabled adult child looking to buy a new home? If they cannot finance the home by themselves, you might be able to help them!

Read More »

Camping in Mid Michigan

Camping in Mid Michigan Camping in Mid Michigan With the launch of our Mid Michigan location last month, we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to

Read More »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *